Mitre tool

JimmyB

Now retired - trains and fishing
23 Feb 2018
Weston-super-Mare
www.tumble-down-falls.co.uk
Best answers
Country flag
Yesterday I thought I might (no pun intended) invest in a mitre block as I have a number of 45 degree angle to cut. however whilst reviewing the item available I came across a number of small (mini) chop-saws with rotating vices. On checking out the reviews, a number of people said the were "useless" of words to that effect, but then there is always somebody who expects more, or does not follow instructions. So, my question is:

Have any of you had any experience using one of these "mini chop saws", and if so, make model etc, and was it any good.

P.S. this will mainly be used on plastics and resin, and occasionally wood.

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
How 'mini' do you mean?
Also, what are you wanting to cut? - sizes, how many?

Smaller machines will not have a 'click-stop' at common angles, so down to you, how accurate you set the machine up.
Cutting plastics :
Many blades will chip the edge.
Work too fast, and you will melt the material. - Which may alter its properties and finish.

You will 'waste' a lot of material (on smaller items) as the width of cut is quite significant.

All the waste, ends up as dust / fine particles. - Tends to create a messy environment.

But if you are cutting many repetitive parts, it may be worth the investment?

PhilP

JimmyB

23 Feb 2018
Weston-super-Mare
Best answers
Country flag
The mini ones I looked at are 12 mm depth of cut, so very small, and some come with a composite "blade" as opposed to a toothed blade.

As with all of these things, you don't really know what you want till you have tried one, and so my question to get some forum feedback :)

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag