idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
The Massoth Automatic Uncoupler part number 8414002 enables you to raise or lower the hook of an LGB style hook and loop coupler under the control of DCC. You get two uncouplers in each pack.

(I imagine it could be controlled by radio control as well but I have no experience of this. The mechanism is just a servo motor controlled by an open collector running at track voltage, and has the necessary logic inside to control the movement.)

Massoth maintain a list of which locos this uncoupler can be fitted to, easily or with increasing degrees of difficulty. For my first attempt I chose a loco to which the uncoupler can be fitted “as is”, to be specific LGB 21471 Ballenberg rack and pinion steam loco, which comes fitted with an LGB single motor decoder.

The uncoupler is supplied with a 3 lead mini CT plug which fits in various LGB and Massoth boards and decoders. To fit it to the loco you remove the existing hook and loop coupler and replace it with the Massoth Automatic Uncoupler. In order to do this you have to split the uncoupler into two parts, the hook and loop mechanism (which you have to be very careful to keep together, using the plastic band they are supplied with), and the servo motor.

Once the hook and loop mechanism is screwed tightly in place, you fit the servo back on with the two small screws. Make sure the silver nut fitted on the server screw thread fits in the slot of the hook and loop mechanism (see picture). If you don’t the nut will unscrew completely and it is not an easy job to put it back.

IMG_20180307_094649.jpg

Connect the plug to a function output of your decoder and you’re done. Once fitted the automatic uncoupler looks pretty much like a normal hook and loop.

IMG_20180307_094438.jpg