Hi - new to G scale

Ensign Elliott

Registered
12 Apr 2020
Staffordshire
Best answers
Hi all. I'm completely new to G gauge as I currently model indoors in N.

My wife has given permission for a small garden railway so I'm looking into the completely new world of large scale stuff. I'd ideally like a live steam 0-4-0 and a small circuit of track measuring about 4m in diameter, maybe with couple of stabling sidings.

I was planning to buy some of the Peco G gauge flexible track (SL-900 series) but thought I'd ask on here about the pros and cons. Anyone got any advice for a beginner?

Many thanks

Rob

David1226

Registered
24 Oct 2009
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Country
United-States
Best answers
Country flag

My wife has given permission for a small garden railway so I'm looking into the completely new world of large scale stuff. I'd ideally like a live steam 0-4-0 and a small circuit of track measuring about 4m in diameter, maybe with couple of stabling sidings.

I was planning to buy some of the Peco G gauge flexible track (SL-900 series) but thought I'd ask on here about the pros and cons. Anyone got any advice for a beginner?

Many thanks

Rob

Hi Elliot

Welcome to the Forum, only too pleased to help. Send me £500 and I will tell you everything you need to know.

David

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum Rob.

Do you have a theme for your proposed layout, and/or will it be based on some narrow gauge railway somewhere?

SL-900 is nickel-silver code 250 45mm gauge track. That's quite a specific choice.
I would guess the majority of people on this forum use code 332 brass (LGB etc) for 45mm gauge, it lasts forever and there's usually loads second-hand.

You may have already done your homework on this but my questions would be: