Hi I am new with query on Stainz 20212

Martin Goodman

Registered
9 Dec 2023
South Harting
Best answers
Country flag
Back in 2000 I was given a LGB starter set 78302. It is only now 23 years later I have got it out of the box. The loco works fine, but I noticed the track becoming sticky after a few circuits. On inspection of the loco, I see that the two left hand wheels have a rubber type band inset into the wheel which I assume is to aid traction. The rubber has perished, becoming sticky and flaking off. The gold label on the bottom of the loco is 901029 so the loco was made in 1999. Is this a common fault? Does it matter if the rubber comes away? Will it affect the overall traction of the loco? Can one get replacement rubber tyres to put back on the wheels? Any advice would be gratefully received.

SevenOfDiamonds

Registered
3 Jan 2010
Best answers
Country flag
the two left hand wheels have a rubber type band inset into the wheel

Are you sure that BOTH left hand wheels have a traction tyre? One per loco is more normal and traction tyres restrict electrical contact.

The booklet that should have been included in the set includes the product number for the traction tyre (E126 174) and fitting instruictions . . .

1702153321254.png

Hope this helps a little

David

dutchelm

Registered
24 Oct 2009
N Somerset
Best answers
Country flag
I had an epidemic of tyre failures in the summer. I found some replacements on ebay.

Martin Goodman

Registered
9 Dec 2023
South Harting
Best answers
Country flag
Are you sure that BOTH left hand wheels have a traction tyre? One per loco is more normal and traction tyres restrict electrical contact.

The booklet that should have been included in the set includes the product number for the traction tyre (E126 174) and fitting instruictions . . .

View attachment 321482

Hope this helps a little

David
David