Help with Track plan

Earl Bathurst

Registered
20 Oct 2011
Best answers
Hi
Im new to this forum so hope i have posted this in the correct section.
I am new to this and i am looking for help with a track plan. The area i have is 10ft x 16ft at the moment and i am not sure what i can get into this space. I am looking to run small locos like stainz and maybe piko 218 diesels.
Can anyone suggest a plan for what i could fit into the space i got.
This would be of great help to me.
Thanks
:)

Tony

Model railways
28 Feb 2010
East coast Essex
www.facebook.com
Best answers
Hello and welcome surly you have more space than that i believe your esate is quite sizable

seriously though buy some track (An oval and some points) and lay it out run some trains and experiment it always looks better on the ground so to speak Good luck

Tony

Steve

I didn’t say it was your fault, I said I was b
1 Jan 1970
D.I.L.L.I.G.A.F
Best answers
Country flag

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
North Essex
Best answers
Country flag
If you want to run things like the big 218 diesels, then you need to keep your curves as wide as possible - I'd say no less than LGB Radius 3 (or Piko Radius 5, which is pretty much the same thing under a different name!).

Take a look at what James has done here: http://www.gscalecentral.net/m10767...e to the GSC nut-house! :bigsmile: Jon.

railwayman198

Registered
24 Oct 2009
East London
Best answers
Country flag
Is your space indoors or outdoors? You can generally get away with steeper gradients indoors so a more complex multi level plan might be possible, paricularly in a loft space where access may well bring you neatly into the middle. If outdoors then something like James' plan looks ideal.

playmofire

Registered
23 Oct 2010
North Yorks
Best answers
Country flag