Help with a secondhand battery car

Bombastic

Registered
29 Jun 2023
Eagle Point, Oregon USA
Best answers
Country flag
Hi all,

Last week I won a very reasonably priced LGB sound car on eBay that was in pretty good cosmetic condition. However, I realized once it arrived that the previous owner had put a whole radio control and battery power setup inside that I had no idea was included. So now I'm looking at a mass of RC equipment and thinking maybe it's worth buying a transmitter and new battery, ditching the power pickups on one of my old Stainz locos, and running it on battery power via the old power plug on the back. However... I know almost nothing about the electric systems that are used for this kind of thing.

Back 15 years ago I flew RC planes with 6 channel 72 MHz systems, so I understand the basics of ESCs and receivers and servos and whatnot; but I have no background with the kinds of transmitters, battery voltages and capacities, and radio systems that are used by the model train community. I don't even know what kind of transmitter layout one would use for running a train. This looks like a 2 channel 75MHz Futaba receiver running with an Rx 74 chip, which runs a massive Novak ESC and a full-size servo that flips a manual switch and appears to be a rudimentary direction control. Is this setup worth salvaging, and if so what kind of transmitter would you suggest to pair with it? And what type, size, and capacity of battery would you put in this to run a stainz or other similar LGB train with the old style connection ports in the back?

Any other pointers for setting this thing up as a battery/RC boxcar? Or should I just gut it and restore it to a normal sound car?

Tanner

IMG_1970.jpeg

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag