RR Buttes

Registered
28 Feb 2022
Pennington County, South Dakota
Country
United-States
Best answers
Country flag
Hello everyone, I'm new to the hobby I have done tons of research and am getting track started. Still heavy frost in the ground. Right at this moment don't have any pictures. I do have a direction. Track power, building myself with a 15A CNC stepper driver and Maxxtronic MXA089 DC motor speed controller. Fused both legs to 10A, may fuse lower after testing is completed. Engine is a Piko 38210 Mogul, Smoke only for now. Using LGB and USA TRAINS track with rail joiners with jumper wires for now. Buying used track at the moment, however have found already that new track is not really that much more expensive if you find the right supplier.
Decided on a 1920s ish theme. Modeling a small livestock shipping yard and a grain elevator. Drawings only for now. Raising my rail bed about 14" above lowest elevation of 4 foot radius curve. It will be about 4" inches above elevation at the higher end. Decided to use large stone to make a wide base for the radius ends, will back fill with limestone pit run; magnesium chloride added and tamp in. This is all laid over a membrane, with a stone base for drainage. Track is going to be laid with ballast once satisfied with my compaction. Bought one Bachmann livestock car to compare scale wise with the Piko engine, not sure what I think of it yet.
I have been whittling some figures, in these cold short days. A Fireman for the engine. A conductor who at this point is just smoking a cigar waiting for Admin to order his caboose. The plastic Piko engineer is getting fired, although his replacement isn't here yet. There is a guy on here that deserves the credit for my direction. He made me stop to think about how I want it to look, the era, track power or DCC. What I wanted it to do, remote or panel operation. Thanks Greg E.
Getting started is the exciting part.
Mike

Reactions: 1 user

Gavin Sowry

Garden Railroader and Raconteur