Hello from Michigan USA!

mjotrainbrain

Registered
19 Jun 2021
Michigan, USA
Best answers
Country flag
Howdy G Scale Central!

To introduce myself briefly, my name is Matthew and I'm from west Michigan. I'm in my fourth year of studying mechanical engineering, leaving little time and money for hobbies at the moment. Besides G scale railroading of course, I mostly spend my time with friends working on cars, offroading all over the beautiful state of Michigan in my Toyota 4Runner, and chasing real trains (mostly on the CSX Chicago Division).

I've been interested in trains my whole life, and have dabbled in modeling with N scale, O scale, and LEGO. I've always wanted to take a stab at G gauge, and as such I've been casually keeping an eye out for a good deal for a while. I jumped at the opportunity for a basic set on Marketplace a few weeks ago without really knowing what I got, but I'm pretty happy with what I happened into. It's all REA/Aristocraft stuff (except one piece of LGB track), which I'll be going over in a thread I'll be making in the "Large Scale Pictures" section for my new railroad.

I'm excited to finally be a part of the G scale community after so many years of being taunted by the great layouts featured in videos and publications!

phils2um

Phil S
11 Sep 2015
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Country
United-States
Best answers
Country flag
You're starting early! My trains sat in the garage for more than thirty years before having a permanent right-of -way. Welcome.

mjotrainbrain

Registered
19 Jun 2021
Michigan, USA
Best answers
Country flag
Thanks for the welcome Phil! Thirty years...that's a real long wait! I'm only 22, so I can't imagine haha. I'm sure it will be several decades before I have the opportunity to build the railway of my dreams, but I'm certainly excited to be making a permanent right of way at all.

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the Forum, Matthew!
Lots of good advice here..