G-round hog

Registered
22 Dec 2020
Eastbourne-sur-Mer
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Boys & Girls,
I'm pretty new to model trains.
I'm currently trying to complete a conversion of a Lionel GP9 Seaboard to Foswork remote control. The LIPO battery replaces the lead ballast weight quite nicely but I'm not sure the 11.1V will be ideal. I'm replacing the lights with LEDs and have constructed a small PCB to operate the horn & bell.
Then there's just the small problem that I've no track as yet and a highly unsuitable steeply graded wind swept back garden to contend with. Onwards & upwards !
I've enjoyed reading many a post but don't really understand the ins & outs of how Forums work. Bare with me !
Regards,
Joe

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
North West Norfolk
Best answers
Country flag
Morning and welcome - you'll get the hang of the forum soon. Whether you'll get the hang of the humour that quickly is anyone's guess :giggle:

The GP9 conversion sounds interesting and yes, I'm not sure that 11.1v would be enough. We have one or two forumites who have ventured into the world of Li-po; some of us have stuck with NiMh just because it's what we know :nod::nod:

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Boys & Girls,
I'm pretty new to model trains.
I'm currently trying to complete a conversion of a Lionel GP9 Seaboard to Foswork remote control. The LIPO battery replaces the lead ballast weight quite nicely but I'm not sure the 11.1V will be ideal. I'm replacing the lights with LEDs and have constructed a small PCB to operate the horn & bell.
Then there's just the small problem that I've no track as yet and a highly unsuitable steeply graded wind swept back garden to contend with. Onwards & upwards !
I've enjoyed reading many a post but don't really understand the ins & outs of how Forums work. Bare with me !
Regards,
Joe