Gradients and possible solutions

rgsmg53

Registered
28 Sep 2013
Portishead, North Somerset
Best answers
Country flag
I'm relatively new to G scale so please excuse an elementary question. Mods please move this if posted in the wrong place.

I'm about to start building a permanent layout in part of my loft with overall dimensions of baseboards of approx 7m x 3.5m with a central operating area accessed via a loft hatch. I know this is small for G Scale but the garden is simply not level enough - and I need an indoor hobby for winter weather which the grandchildren can also enjoy.

I would ideally like to build a two-level layout with a looped-eight design but, due to the shallow roof angle, the width is reduced to 2.5m if clearance to accommodate an upper level of track is required.

I have been playing with designs using Anyrail (excellent program) and find that the absolute minimum (calculated) gradient is 3% if I am to leave headroom of 255mm (inc baseboard) for trains on the lower level and then this only allows two-level running at one end of the layout, the rest being taken up by graded track which severely restricts design freedom.

I've been carrying out some 'scientific' tests using a 4m length of straight track on an inclined trackbed and four LGB small bogie coaches hauled by various LGB and Bachman locos. The smallest loco I have is a LGB Feldbahn 0-4-0 and this can only manage one coach without slipping to a standstill. The LGB Stainz seems a lot better and can manage all four coaches but very careful (DCC) control is required to prevent slipping and the 0-6-0 six-coupled LGB diesel is not significantly better. All are fitted with Zimo decoders with 128-step motor control and none are fitted with any type of traction tyre.