First efforts

robsmorgan

Registered
5 Feb 2010
Ceredigion, Mid Wales, UK
Best answers
I don't think there is a specific thread for testing your efforts, to realistically weather kit, on experienced eyes. This may be my graveyard but I have never tried it before.... I have read many articles but been very nervous about wrecking the appearance of a brand new item... So to open up the opportunity for others to be objectively critical about my work yesterday here goes. The pictures show my 'Annie' as purchased and also after a day with my airbrush:banghead:

I hope this proves a useful thread for other newbies to this art to get honest feedback!

cfd9536794834281b8f0beeed4025b40.jpg

f732fb262ecd425187d84af9befd1113.jpg

Bram

Playing trains, Ballroom Dancing, Good Food & Wine
24 Oct 2009
Knowle
Best answers
Country flag
Keep the piccies coming, there are others on here who appreciate the weathered look and you seem to have cracked it rather well

railwayman198

Registered
24 Oct 2009
East London
Best answers
Country flag
Looks very good to me. Of course you realise that now you have started there is no end. I bet you are already looking at that coach and thinking 'what can I do to make it look a bit less plastic?'

robsmorgan

Registered
5 Feb 2010
Best answers
You're right Philip, I have several carriages to deal with, plus I am working on another engine to resemble 'The General', I have built a truck with cannon, and sprayed a caboose & box car grey.... I was thinking to make it look like the B&W Buster Keaton film:rolleyes:

Thanks to Bram as well, I hope other guys will use this as an ongoing window to their work.

I must put up a credit for the authors of articles I have read soon!!:admire:

Dave Hub

everyting
26 Oct 2009
west mids
Best answers
that looks 1000 times better now with the dirt. I wish companies would sell them like that.

Great Job

silverflyer

G Scale, Photography,
26 Oct 2009
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Best answers
Hi robsmorgan,