Experience using Roco Multimaus

wilf54

Registered
28 Mar 2010
North West, United Kingdom
Best answers
I thought I would pass on my experiences of using a Roco MultiMaus to control G Scale locos.

After doing lots of research I decided to go for DCC for the new garden railway. I have had plenty of experience of analogue wiring (block style), but no experience of DCC. I looked at plenty of systems, some with more features than others, unfortunately my budget forced me to rule most of them out.

In the end I chose a Roco MultiMaus system. The best price I could find involved buying from Germany using eBay. It took about a week for the parcel to arrive. After spending about 5 minutes to change the langugue to English we were off.

I was quickly able to program my LGB Stainz (fitted with a 55020 decoder). I was up and running within 10 minutes - and that is with a 3 year old "helping" ;) I will leave the general description/review to the many better authors than me. However suffice to say despite the fact that the system was never really designed by G Scale, there appears to be plenty of power. Operation is very simple - the 3 year old can easily operate and select locos.

I have used outdoor CAT5e cable to make a xPressnet Bus round the garden. I have used RJ45 network outlets wired in parallel for the connection of the hand held controller (the RJ12 connectors "mate" to the center 6 pins of the RJ45 socket). The one socket I have in an exposed location I have fitted within a "showerproof" box (http://www.wickes.co.uk/invt/204972 ). The lid of the box can be removed by just "popping" it off. The bus length is probably about 20M so far. This seems to be working well so far and time will tell how durable it is.

So far I have run 3 locos concurrently without issue (LGB Stainz, LGB starter set Diesel, & playmobil motor block with Thomas body). Very pleased with the system to say that it has cost less than £85

If anyone wants to know more - just ask!

Tim Brien