Digital cameras, memory cards

Granitechops

Narrow Gauge 1/12th scale on 45mm</br>Quarrying &
24 Oct 2009
Sunny Devon Uk
Best answers
Do memory cards used in digital cameras "wear out"?

Or

Is it the card reader?

I have been using a card reader for my digi cameras for about 3-4 years
this morning it refused to be read by the computer, I do have several cards of different capacity

this one is 4GB

do the electronic contacts wear out,

or is it becase it had been out in the cold

anyone any ideas??

ped

N/A
13 Dec 2009
Anglesey,North Wales
Best answers
Country flag
Re:Digital cameras, memory cards

I have had the same trouble with my memory card, It has only been trouble twice and on both occasions it was when i was using outside in the cold,after being back indoors in the warm for an hour or so it worked fine again, so i presume this could be the cause, hope this is of some help.

dgt

STEAM
25 Oct 2009
Best answers

I've got a feeling that some cameras and older card readers don't get on with the bigger (4gb and up) cards.
I'm prepared to be shot down on this, but I have had problems myself in the past.

Dave

simon@mgr

Aviation, model engineering & all things technical
25 Oct 2009
Gold Coast, QLD, The Land Downunder
Best answers
Country flag

Best thing to do is to approach card reader with a large hammer, if this does not elicit correct operation, replace unserviceable reader

E

Elmtree Line

Some older digital camera's aren't compatible with new larger capacity cards. Many could only take up to 1GB cards, where the norm nowadays is more 4GB and more.

Sometimes its just a software "glitch" when they don't work quite right, try rebooting things and then checking again, usually works, the cold shouldn't really affect this sort of media as there are no moving parts, but condensation when you bring it back into the warm pc/card reader may form a small barrier that stops the card being read.

KeithT

Hillwalking, chickens and - err - garden railways.