IMG_20200909_114232.jpg
    317.4 KB · Views: 0

Tanker man

G scale and 5 inch ride on
10 Jun 2015
Oxford
Best answers
Country flag
This this is my first attempt at 'Tinker cad' spent an hour on the free tutorial yesterday afternoon then had a go at producing the name board to go at the Noth end of the platform, on the signal box. A little 'deeper' than I would have liked but using the 10ft rule, it looks ok out on the box. Have started to paint the relief, will post the finished item, later.
Dave

IMG_1489.JPG

Reactions: 1 user

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
I can make some guesses, but if you are posting examples of 3D printed items, could you provide:
1. an idea of the size of the item.
2. type of printer. Supplemental: type of material.
3.rough idea of time to print item.
Please.
Else we have no idea if these criteria would be acceptable / preferable to traditional modelling techniques.

Thanks,
PhilP.

Tanker man

10 Jun 2015
Oxford
Best answers
Country flag
Sorry, it's 150mm long x 20mm high by 10mm deep, it's printed in white PLA and it took just over 2 hours to print on my Ender 3 , as I said, I will post a picture of it on the signal box, hopefully, tomorrow if it does not rain!
Thanks for the 'likes'
Dave

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
Thanks!
I had not realised it was that deep?

Of course, you had to create the drawings / files first.. But I guess using Slaters letters and Plasticard, would have taken a similar time to that it took to print?

Tanker man

10 Jun 2015
Oxford
Best answers
Country flag
Thanks!
I had not realised it was that deep?

Of course, you had to create the drawings / files first.. But I guess using Slaters letters and Plasticard, would have taken a similar time to that it took to print?