can the lgb stainz make number 20201 be upgraded?

i like trains kid

im a g scale noob
29 Dec 2018
Michigan
Best answers
there are a few spare parts, and i got my stainz loco in the mail yesterday, i would like to hack in the sound effect parts into this loco, i know a chip is needed, a different firebox, and mount a speaker in the cab roof. can this be done on my loco without any problems? are there more parts needed then this?
also for the fun of it, how old is my loco?

Paul2727

Registered
5 Jun 2018
The Cotswolds
Best answers
Country flag
Ok then.
You can fit sound to most all versions of the Stainz, it's just a question of ingenuity or how much you are prepared to spend.
Turn over your loco and (hopefully.) you'll see a little gold sticker with OK on it. The first and last numbers of the number on this sticker will give give you the year it was made.
Now the question everyone will ask you;
Will you be using DC or DCC control?
Your reply to that will make it easier for people to give you the correct information.

If you are looking at DC and cheap, then a sound card from a 20212 can be picked up at for a reasonable sum and wired straight into the supply to the rear accessory socket without much trouble, but it is just a basic chuffing sound.
Regards,
Paul.

i like trains kid

im a g scale noob
29 Dec 2018
Michigan
Best answers
im running it dc, thanks for the note, the bottom just says a code, 901185. so that would be the year..um.. 9085? 95? 9/11/85?.... idk

Last edited:

PhilP

G Scale, 7/8th's, Electronics
5 Jun 2013
Nottingham
Best answers
Country flag
im running it dc, thanks for the note, the bottom just says a code, 901185. so that would be the year..um.. 9085? 95? 9/11/85?.... idk

The first and last numbers are the year of manufacture - 95 in this case
The second and third number is supposed to be the day of the month of manufacture but all codes seem to be for the first of the month - 01