Battery Powered GRS Manning Wardle Exe

maxi-model

UK/US/ROW steam narrow gauge railways 1:1
27 Oct 2009
Bucks/Oxon/Northants area
Best answers
Country flag
A short while ago I posted pictures of my GRS Manning Wardle "Exe". I mentioned that I was intending to convert it from track to battery power. It was asked that I post the results of this little project. Well, it has now been done. It trust I have loaded this all up correctly as I am still a bit of a newbie around here.

A quick rundown - All bits and plenty of hand holding supplied by the ever patient Brian Jones.

I used an existing Spektrum DX6i transmitter. So naturally the receiver is of the same make and is velcro mounted onto a card fitted to the inside of the boiler top. This comes with its required binding plug to link it to the host transmitter. Incidentally, the orange light from the activated receiver gives the added bonus of the apparent glow from below the firebox when running at dusk.

Next two custom made "Strikalight" 6 x AA rechargeable battery packs (12 AA's in total) neatly stowed in the side water tanks with yet more velcro fastening, to limit movement fore and aft, at the front of the tanks.

Then a Mac 5 speed controller that is snugly stowed at the side below one of the coal bunkers. This is connected to the rudder output of the receiver. I'll come to why later, there is a little added fun to this project.

On the opposite side the all important safety cut out fuse, to protect the Mac 5 controller. This is attached to the inside of the bunker side with .... you guessed it, more velcro.

After a little bit of gentle drilling - mounted into the right side of the loco body's baseplate are the charging socket, main on/of/charging switch and on/off switch for the Seuthe smoke unit. Note - the loco's motor is attached to the speed controller not the loco's track pickup board. The smoke unit is still track powered though to minimise drain on the batteries.