Amazing chuff

Moonraker

Registered
25 Oct 2009
South Australia
Best answers
Country flag
I came across an American device called a "Bark Box" which is the first chuff device I have heard which sounds like the real thing and not a model. Far better than a chuff pipe. You can see it at http://www.trainsales.com/barkbox.htm .

Does anyone know if they can be made to fit into a Roundhouse smokebox?

Peter

bobg

Registered
3 May 2010
Middle Earth
Best answers
From their website it sounds good, and from the dimension requirements seems quite a complicated device.

I have no experience of these things, or chuff pipes, other than what I've heard on the likes of Youtube, where they seem to sound quite good. Having experienced drafting problems on larger locos, my fear is, will it adversely affect the steaming properties to fit something like this. I'm tempted to fit something to my Countess but..........!!!

brianthesnail96

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Gloucesterestershire
Best answers
Not cheap are they... I'd have to hear one in a smaller loco (Ruby etc) before I'd be convinced by it- I would expect a decent chuff from a loco with cylinders that size, but it might be a different story with a (relatively) small RH or Accucraft UK loco. I also think it would be tricky to fit to a roundhouse loco without restricting the flow of hot flue gasses. Must admit I'd be interested to hear what Chris (Mr Summerlands Chuffer) thinks of these, I know he has done a lot of research (and testing!) to ensure that the Summerlands chuffers don't stifle performance.

New Haven Neil

trains bikes camping kayaking red wine.....more tr
24 Oct 2009
Best answers
From what I have seen of Bark Boxes, there is little chance of getting them to fit in a smaller model such as a Roundhouse. They use a resonance chamber in the smokebox that is bigger than a Lady Anne smokebox on it's own ! These K's are BIG engines. It's all about size....er....:thinking: