adding turnouts to basic oval, step wise progression?

tempom

Registered
15 Dec 2020
Best answers
Newbie here. I have a basic oval LGB and want to add turnouts to make it interesting. Do people recommend getting a left and right R1, then another left and right R1, then a set of R3 or some other combination? Wanting to do indoor in up to 8x10ft or so space. I need track plan ideas. Thanks!

Gavin Sowry

Garden Railroader and Raconteur
27 Oct 2009
Hutt Valley, NZ
Best answers
Country flag
Don't put any turnouts in that are going to give you a consecutive left, right, left or vice versa track set layout.
Straight, left, right, straight combination is just only acceptable.

korm kormsen

Registered
24 Oct 2009
Country
Paraguay
Best answers
Country flag
eight by ten foot is not big for largescale trains. so, larger than R3 is more or less out.
the basic question for yourself should be, do you like short trains? or big trains with big locos and long cars?
if you like bigger stuff, forget R1 switches and go directly to the R3 switches and curves.
buying one left and one right switch and some straights for the first "passing siding" is how i started to grow from the starter set.
then a third switch for a short siding to park unused cars.

for some plans (and a lot of other things) look at this LGB publication:

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
With that space you are more or less confined to R1 curves and points, maybe R2 if you want a double loop. You can get R2 points, compatible with LGB. You should limit your rolling stock accordingly, my rule of thumb is nothing longer than 45cm and no more than 6 coupled wheels (some exceptions). My layout is indoor and about that size. There is an LGB publication with small track plans, I'll dig out the link.
LGB small (indoor?) track plans
Also my thread "Return to the great indoors" has a few ideas.Return to the great indoors

Last edited:

a98087

Registered
8 Nov 2009