What type of varnish to use on buildings

dencol

Registered
24 Oct 2009
Sefton, Merseyside
Best answers
Hi
I am starting to add more structures to the line using various materials (concrete, wood, resin) and painting them using a mixture of Halfords car spray paints, Humbrol enamel and masonry type paint pots. Most of the buildings will be left out all year.
I seem to remember reading somewhere about adding a coat of varnish to the finished items to protect them.
Unfortunately I have found problems with the two building that have been out since last year. In that the varnish has gone yellow/brown and is peeling off.
I was wondering if it is best to just leave off the varnish stage or if anyone can suggest a more suitable varnish to use? (cannot find the tin of varnish spray I used last year so dont know the make sorry)

Thanks Colin

ge_rik

British narrow gauge (esp. Southwold and W&LLR)
24 Oct 2009
Cheshire
www.riksrailway.blogspot.com
Best answers
Country flag
I'm no expert but I remember reading somewhere that water-based varnish should be used on water-based paints (eg acrylics) and oil-based varnishes on oil-based paints (eg enamels). Maybe that's why it peeled off. I've given my buildings a spray of Plastikote acrylic varnish as I used a water-based exterior paint on them. They've not yet been out a full year so no idea how they will survive.

IMG_2815.JPG

Rik

Steve

I didn’t say it was your fault, I said I was b
1 Jan 1970
D.I.L.L.I.G.A.F
Best answers
Country flag
What a brilliant question

peterbunce

1880's Colorado Narrow gauge on 45mm track
29 Oct 2009
east of manchester
Best answers
Hi,

I use Johnsons Klear - which is intended for kitchen floors. Its an acrylic vanish, though the new version is said to have a slight brownish cast - I have not seen it, as the new bottles are opaque - the old ones were clear.