Welsh or Anthracite coal?

jabsteam

1:20.3, 16mm
3 Sep 2012
Colorado Springs, USA
Best answers
I'm new to 16mm coal fired live steam and was wondering what the preferred fuel for these little dragons is?
Getting on the list for a DJB Robert kit, but have been into 1.5 scale for decades.

Ferrysteam

Registered
25 Oct 2009
Co Durham
Best answers
Welsh steam coal was the best coal for GWR engines so I suppose that would apply to miniatures.

alec dawe

Railways, Cars, Wine!
11 Dec 2010
East Anglia, 32A Norwich.
Best answers
Not sure about Welsh coal on a model engine. Welsh steam coal has some strange burning characteristics, in the the coal, on heating, swells first, forming a sort of spongy mass as the volatiles are released, before really burning.
This might not be the best state of affairs for a small engine, fine on a grate designed with welsh coal in mind.
Personally, I'd suggest using a hard coal, Yorkshire cobble. No idea what equivalent you'd fine in the USA, but you need something with high heat content, and as low an ash content as possible, with also al little tendency to form clinker as you can find.

tramcar trev

all manner of mechanical apparatus...
22 Jan 2011
Canberra, Australia
trevs-tramway.blogspot.com
Best answers
Lignite ( brown coal) or coked lignite ( char) seems to be preferred in Australia for small fireboxes, dosen't clinker, low ash and easy to "fire" i.e. little use of fire irons necessary... I used it in my steam launches with great success, though I did have a bag of proper coal to throw on when clouds of black smoke were considered essential....

kovacjr

Registered
7 Dec 2012
Best answers
Welsh Coal is your best bet. If you are in the UK it is easy to obtain. If you are in the US, I stock it here in New Jersey. Shipping small 22lbs and large boxes up to 55lbs.

Jason

http://www.thetraindepartment.com < Link To www.thetraindepartment.com

maxi-model

UK/US/ROW steam narrow gauge railways 1:1
27 Oct 2009
Bucks/Oxon/Northants area