Piko kits and adhesives - problems

OBBherr

Registered
17 Aug 2016
Hampshire, UK
Best answers
Country flag
I would appreciate advice from the collective wisdom of the forum. I am trying to construct the Piko refinery loading dock item no. 62049. I am having a terrible time securing the handrails to the walkway frame as the Pola glue does not seem to take, and only makes a very superficial bond. This is a real problem as every time I try to secure the walkway itself (which clamps the handrails in place), I dislodge a handrail and have to reglue it.

By way of experiment I have tried gluing some of the surplus sprues togther with my preferred Pola cement, but also Piko's supplied UHU Plast - same unstaisfactory result.

Now I always believed that polysturene cements have a solvent effect on plastics, which allows the treated area to effectively melt, then harden to form a bond. I am open to correction on this as I'm an accountant not a chemist. I can see no sign of this melting effect on my test sprues, and even after being clamped tgther for the best part of a day they separate very easily, even after I have scraped a clean area to apply the cement. I have never experienced this problem before, including construction of the Piko passenger bridge which uses similar parts.

Does anyone have any experience to share, or comments on what the problem may be? All contributions appreciated.

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
Staff member
GSC Moderator
25 Oct 2009
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Best answers
Country flag
I have had lots of success with UHU Power. However this is not a fast setting glue so perhaps a super glue (good quality not the pound shop rubbish) may be the thing.

OBBherr

Registered
17 Aug 2016
Hampshire, UK
Best answers
Country flag
Just found the thread on "PIKO Fix vs UHU Glue" I'm goiung to try the leaving it under pressure for 18 hours and see what happens.

phils2um

Phil S
11 Sep 2015
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Country