Interesting Point Motor problem.

bobg

Registered
3 May 2010
Middle Earth
Best answers
I have 6 LGB point motors all within about 5.5 m of track (terminus). The power feed is about 2m from one end so not quite in the middle. Five of the motors will trip very happily on 12v D.C. but one refuses to work on less than 18v. It is not the one furthest from the feed, but the one furthest to the near end (if that makes sense).

I haven't got round to using the test meter on it but as the wiring is all new so I wouldn't expect to find much with that anyway, nor have I tried moving the motor to another position yet. I just wondered if anyone else had come across such a phenomena, and what caused it and what was the cure?????

:thinking::thinking::thinking:

Andy Worsfold

G Scale Railways</br>Disney</br>The Prisoner
24 Oct 2009
Havant
Best answers
I'm not an expert but mine use an AC supply. 18V.

Andy

bobg

Registered
3 May 2010
Middle Earth
Best answers
Sure Andy, but it gets rectified (to D.C.) before it reaches the point motor. Mine are wired direct, from momentary switches.

korm kormsen

Registered
24 Oct 2009
Country
Paraguay
Best answers
Country flag
sounds, like you activated your momentary switch a bit too long.
i myself did fry some turnout motors as well, before i understood the difference between DC and rectified AC.
the rectified AC is like a kind of "stuttering", intermittend DC. as such it can not fry the turnout motors.

bobg

Registered
3 May 2010
Middle Earth
Best answers
A possibilty Korm, but not I, someone else, they were secondhand. It is possible to have burnt the windings and shorted some but not blown them. A resistance test might perhaps show that up. It would have taken a while to do that even so, not just a slightly long 'hold'.

One of the motors refused to work at all to start with, till I cleaned it out and reassembled it.

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers