Hi from Hampshire

Lightrail

Registered
11 Oct 2016
liss, hampshire
Best answers
I've been modelling in the large scales for a few years, and am in the process of building a very small G scale layout in my garage. Seeing an LGB Corpet got me into this, and I'm sticking with the French metre gauge theme. Due to space considerations only 4 wheel stock will be used, and I shall be modifying rtr products as well as scratchbuilding. Is there anybody else doing or thinking of doing the same?

Lightrail

playmofire

Registered
23 Oct 2010
North Yorks
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome from North Yorkshire. Your plans intrigue me as I'm thinking along similar lines (boom! boom !)

idlemarvel

Neither idle nor a marvel
13 Jul 2015
Ascot
Country
Mars
Best answers
Country flag
I have a small (6 ft x 7 ft 6 in) indoor layout in my shed which is sort of 1m narrow gauge but I use a large dollop of artistic license. I'm using 45mm track with R1 curves and points but I manage to run a 0-4-4-0T Meyer and an OBB Bo-Bo diesel without looking too ridiculous. Mostly 4 wheel rolling stock apart from an Austrian railways double bogie box car with guards cabin. I have managed to squeeze in a passing loop, good siding and engine shed. Scenery is basic at the moment. My winter project is to give it a "split personality" by adding overhead lines so I can run Swiss overhead electric stock.

Keen to see your proposed layout plan.

Reactions: 1 user

Zerogee

Clencher's Bogleman
25 Oct 2009
North Essex
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum, Lightrail. Your ideas sound very interesting, will look forward to seeing your progress! I'd love to do an indoor layout sometime, but seeing as I've still not got an outdoor one built in the last fifteen or so years I guess that it will probably wait even longer - if I can ever afford to retire, though, I have a perfect workshop space that will get converted from work to hobby area (if the Memsahib doesn't nab it for her dollshouses first.....). ;)