Help, (with a very large capial H)

Steveford666

Women, engineering, photography, guitar plaoing, s
13 Jan 2010
Billericay, Essex
Best answers
I bought some Aristocraft brass rail and brass Tenmillle rail. They look like el cheapo jewellery. Do they get weathered as they get older or are they always that crappy colour? If they do, Peco hear I come.

KeithT

Hillwalking, chickens and - err - garden railways.
24 Oct 2009
Nr Manchester
Best answers
Country flag
Steveford666 said:
I bought some Aristocraft brass rail and brass Tenmillle rail. They look like el cheapo jewellery. Do they get weathered as they get older or are they always that crappy colour? If they do, Peco hear I come.
I have no experience of Tenmille but Aristo very definitely weathers to a deep brown even more so than LGB.
Accucraft track takes much longer to 'tone' down but the running surface cleans easily.

ge_rik

British narrow gauge (esp. Southwold and W&LLR)
24 Oct 2009
Cheshire
www.riksrailway.blogspot.com
Best answers
Country flag
Steve
At the back of this picture you can see some Tenmille track which has been outside for about three years.

IMG_1661.JPG

I think you'll agree there's no problem with with weathering. As you can see, I use Aristo, LGB and Tenmille track together with no problems. I just use plain ordinary LGB joiners for them all - but do bond the joins with soldered jumpers for electrical continuity.

Rik

railwayman198

Registered
24 Oct 2009
East London
Best answers
Country flag
When I laid was laying my track 6 years ago I was too impatient to wait for natural weathering. I did not like the look of the brass track or the shiny plastic sleepers so I bought a load of cans of Railmatch track grime paint and sprayed the lot, ballast and all. I wiped off the railhead before it was completely dry. I was expecting the stuff to flake off fairly quickly but in fact it's very durable. It does not come off the rail at all but has flaked on some sections of sleeper, which looks o.k.