Gunderson 60 foot box car

phishplatephan

Model Railways; W.R Diesel Hydraulics; American Ra
3 Dec 2009
Ruislip, West London
Best answers
Hi, This is my first attempt at scratch building rolling stock for my garden railway.

Its based around a length of 6mm perspex 610mm by 98mm with 2mm styrene sides, ends and roof. The underside framework is a mixture of 11.1mm and 6.3mm 'I' beam with brass rod for air pipe work. I've used USA Trains R-T-R bogies and they are mounted using 6.3mm O.D. brass tube with a 5mm machine screw through the middle secured in place by solder. I bought a 'HO' Gunderson freight car and, using digital calipers, times all the measurements by three. The model is an 'EXCESS HEIGHT' car (above 15') and you can see the difference when compared to the 53' Evans box car from Aristocraft.

This is my Winter project (I have all the stuff to start building the garden railway from the Spring).

Does anyone have and pointers for painting? What paint can I use on Styrene without dissolving it?

If this car is successful I plan to build a 60' Gondola car and maybe even a Steel Coil car. I just wish Aristocraft and USA Trains produced some more in variety of modern freight cars.

fa6fd1c50cd241d592358ee004a1fa7f.jpg

1bb5cde9dd324373bdff85503f8226a4.jpg

996effe45ee24f0b89158bd85f4dc604.jpg

f29c3c4d8bc34456841607956db36508.jpg

This is also my first posting so hopefully the pictures will come through.

Happy New Year to everyone.

Rhinochugger

Retired Oik
27 Oct 2009
North West Norfolk
Best answers
Country flag
Nice work - and good to see something a bit different.

Car enamel spray paints are OK on styrene, or any of the model spray paints.

Use a primer first - grey is the easiest.

If you fancy a yellow colouor, yellow is a pigment that doesn't cover very well. lots of very fine coats with a decent waiting time in between -- otherwise you'll do what I did, and get the paint running - too impatient is me trouble :rolleyes:

phishplatephan

3 Dec 2009