East Coast Railways (ECR) on eBay

bionicatomicuk

Registered
13 Dec 2016
Southend on Sea
Best answers
Good evening, My name is John and I am just getting started in G Scale as I am, and have been, an HO Marklin fan for over 40 years now. I have seen ECR offerings on eBay and they seem remarkably cheap compared to the big brands like LGB and Piko. I am interested in their BR80, radio controlled loco to use with a track cleaning wagon since it will not be affected by dirty rails. I intend the railway to be digital using ESU decoders sp clean rails are important.

Radio control is a simple solution but I ma concerned about the quality of their items as the prices are so much cheaper. IA m also looking at their rolling stock as a quick way to get some. I believe that new hell sets would be a big improvement to their wagons and coaches.

Overall I am looking for any views on both the items they sell and their customer service. All info will be greatly appreciated.

ebay mike

Retired, but still hoarding. (GOF)
6 Dec 2011
Norfolk - edge of nowhere.
Best answers
Country flag
Welcome to the forum John.
I assume you are referring to the Chinese manufactured LGB copies (coaches, wagons, 2-6-2 loco etc.) as ECR also sell Piko G scale.
You get what you pay for from the Train branded stuff, but that said a G scale coach for under £25 represents remarkable value albeit at the expense of quality. I have no connection with the seller other than being a purchaser of a fair quantity of his offerings. To date I have acquired around 15 coaches and over 30 items of freight stock as well as several of the 2-6-2 tank locos. The locos performance is not brilliant but serve my purpose of providing something to run at short notice with the minimum of preparation. I have fitted metal wheelsets to some stock which improves their running qualities. I have also fitted couplings with hooks to both ends which reduced the uncoupling incidents experienced.