Can a 'Serial' Central Station control a 'Parallel' decoder's speed?

LGB333

TRADER
15 Feb 2015
McLean Virginia
www.olddominionrailways.com
Best answers
Country flag
I am not an electrical engineer versed in DCC, just a DCC hobbyist and installer for the last five years. My understanding is that the Parallel and Serial Modes are for activating a decoder's F Key Functions such as sounds, smoker, lights. And a decoder's motor operation is not parallel or serial control so you should be can operate a locomotive's motor with an older Serial DCC System such as the MTS I or II, but not the sounds in a parallel-configured decoder. The Marklin MSD3 mfx/dcc/dc sound decoders which Marklin started installing into their LGB product line in 2014 are parallel only, as is their CS2/3/+ Command Station.

When I convert a customer's LGB locomotive to DCC sound, I normally remove all the existing factory electronics and install a new DCC sound decoder. But I've converted a couple older LGB sound locomotives with the Serial/Analog sound boards using their DCC Interface and a Massoth XL DCC locomotive/function decoder set to Serial Function (CV49=11 and CV29=4 or 6). Using a Massoth 1210 DCC Command Station and Navigator (or LGB MTS III with Navigator) which has both Parallel and Serial Function Control, I was able to activate all the sounds on the board using the factory-assigned F Key Listing. But one customer was using an ESU EcOS Command Station which also has no Serial Function Control, so I installed two ESU Miniature Relays connected to the sound board's whistle and bell reed switch function and wired to the XL decoder, the whistle and bell then could be activated using F1 and F2 on his throttle. The operating and standing sounds would operate as usual, but no other sounds on the board can be activated.

Another glitch: The Massoth DCC Pulsed Smokers only operate in Parallel Function Mode, so you can not install one into a Serial functioning locomotive.

Reactions: 1 user