Basic level digital

perpetualnewbie

Registered
30 Apr 2019
United Kingdom
Best answers
I'm very new to this garden rail / G scale stuff, though I know my way around old-fashioned analogue OO indoor trains, and the basics of DCC. Having fun with some basic LGB trains but I wanted to seek your sage advice on digital.

In OO the emphasis of DCC seemed to be better slow running and the ability to run lots of trains. I never went digital (DCC) because I never really had to - I built small fiddly layouts where I ran one or two locos at a time, I quite enjoyed wiring different parts of the track with switches so I could choose which bits were powered by which controller regardless of the position of the points, and sound was always an optional extra I could easily ignore.

In G scale it seems as though the tech is similar but the reasons to engage with it are a bit different. I'll never have space to run shedloads of locos all at once, and the slow running is already very good. However bells and whistles aren't optional extras on new kit... if I want to buy nice locomotives they come with sound, lights, the works. Not having digital seems to mean missing out. Sometimes the sound doesn't seem to behave very nicely on analogue, other times it's just expensive deadweight. I can perhaps live with expensive deadweight on occasion, but not with paying for extra stuff that actually causes problems. So I feel a bit pushed into digital, to be honest.