Bachmann Spectrum Spectrum 45 ton "Santa Fe" Diesel

davecar

Registered
23 Jun 2010
Liverpool
Best answers
Hi,

I am new to G scale but I now have the bug. I bought a Pico starter set and I have a basic Pico Engine. I have laso bought a Bachmann Anne 2-6-0 whihc is great. I thought I would add a diesel train to my collection and the above diesel is on sale in several outlets for £99 whihc appears to be very good value.

Does anyone have any expeeince of this diesel? I notice that it has knuckle couplings - can these be changed to hook and latch?

Any information on this model gratefully received.

Kind regards,

Dave

ntpntpntp

Registered
24 Oct 2009
UK
Country
United-Kingdom
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Dave,

there was a discussion on these recently in the Shop Watch section. I think the conclusion was that they're not too bad although not one of Bachmann's best, but beware that they're very large compared to average G gauge stock!

I don't have one of these so cannot comment from personal experience, but if it has the older plastic Bachmann knuckle coupler then I would expect it should be simple to replace with hook and loop (indeed Bachmann rolling stock often comes with hook and loop alternative couplings).

marshman

Registered
9 Feb 2010
north norfolk
Best answers
Country flag
Hi Dave,
I had one of these which I sold on. It is fairly big but runs ok, seemed to need a bit more power from the controller. Would recommend minimum R2 curves, has nice bright leds & sliding windows can fall out.

musket the dog

Registered
31 Oct 2009
Leicester
nlrr.webs.com
Best answers
I had one of these for a while. They will do R1s but they are massive in width and height. I think it would be a very hard job to change the knuckles for hook and loops. I thought it was a very good loco and very powerful just too large for my line.

fc07e570772d4f3f885710855f420ec1.jpg

davecar

Registered
23 Jun 2010
Liverpool
Best answers
Many thanks for these helpful replies.