Aristocraft loco - use of Pulse width control

davecar

Registered
23 Jun 2010
Liverpool
Best answers
Hi,

I am new to g scale and thinking of buying another loco. I have identified an Aristo craft loco called a Rea 0-4-0 and it is for sale on Ebay at £87.50 plus p & p. See link below:-

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370310308885&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

I have tracked down the instruction manual for this at

http://www.aristocraft.com/techinfo/manuals pdf/21300_0-4-0.pdf

In the instruction manual it says only power this loco with an aristo craft power unit because it uses "pulse width control". If another power control is used you need an adapter.

I only have a very basic 1 amp controller but I am thinking of upgrading.

Thought this loco would be suitable but the above infor has put me off. The loco does have a smoke generator and a fire glow box.

Any information gratefully received.

Kind regards,

Dave

Gizzy

A gentleman, a scholar, and a railway modeller....
26 Oct 2009
Cambridgeshire
www.gscalecentral.net
Best answers
Country flag
davecar said:
Hi,

I am new to g scale and thinking of buying another loco. I have identified an Aristo craft loco called a Rea 0-4-0 and it is for sale on Ebay at £87.50 plus p & p. See link below:-

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370310308885&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

I have tracked down the instruction manual for this at

http://www.aristocraft.com/techinfo/manuals pdf/21300_0-4-0.pdf

In the instruction manual it says only power this loco with an aristo craft power unit because it uses "pulse width control". If another power control is used you need an adapter.

I only have a very basic 1 amp controller but I am thinking of upgrading.

Thought this loco would be suitable but the above infor has put me off. The loco does have a smoke generator and a fire glow box.

Any information gratefully received.

Kind regards,

Dave