Analogue controller for easy access

davecar

Registered
23 Jun 2010
Liverpool
Best answers
Hi,

I am new to g scale so please forgive my ignorance.

I am just in the process of laying track. I have two water features in my garden - one at the top and one at the bottom of my garden. My oval will be about 20 metres long and will go round the water features at both ends of the garden.
I bought a Piko starter set initially so my controller is very basic and is plastic.

The two loops at each end of my oval go though various obstacles and this means that the loco is occasionally out of sight. The controller has about a one meter lead so it is difficult to see what is happening.

I dont want to go to DCC (I have this in OO) and I dont want the expense of radio controlled locos - at least not at this early stage in my g scale hobby.

Is there an analogue controller available that is portable (wire connected would be OK)?

Or can I make some simple adaptations that would give me a more portable control.

Kind regards,

Dave

Neil Robinson

Registered
24 Oct 2009
N W Leicestershire
Best answers
Country flag
You may wish to consider radio control of the track power, such as Aristo's train engineer system.

http://www.dragon-gscale.co.uk/cre-55470-train-engineer-walkaround-transmitter--receiver-2275-p.asp < Link To http://www.dragon-gscale....r--receiver-2275-p.asp

These come up second hand at reasonable prices from time to time. A word of caution though, if purchasing a used one test it before purchase or ensure that you will get a full refund if faulty as there are a fair number of non working examples out there.

You may well be able to modify your controller, but I'm unfamiliar with the unit so can't advise and modification would invalidate any warranty.