CAD Drawing anyone do it?

G

GarryH

Registered
30 Oct 2009
257
0
Crowborough East Sussex
I was wondering if anyone uses CAD drawing to scratch build? I know nothing about it but would love to have a bash on a simple programme.
Is there such a drawing package out there that anyone uses?
Buget is always an issue does anyone know of a simple package that is a free download.
I fancy having a bash at drawing up the modern carriage stock used on the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway.
I found a small company that offers laser cutting of thin ply and can use drawings that follow the "dwr" format.........don't know what that is yet, but hey I couln't use a computer 10years ago so I see no reason why I can't learn.
Any help woulld be great
Cheers Garry
 
Steve

Steve

I didn’t say it was your fault, I said I was b
Staff member
GSC Moderator
1 Jan 1970
29,006
6
D.I.L.L.I.G.A.F
One person to talk to could be Ian S , but be careful he bites :rofl:
 
R

Rob s

trains, R/C models, 4x4 off roading, motor sport
24 Oct 2009
2,010
0
West Midlands
<p>The best cad system on the market is called Auto Cad, we use this at work.:wits: </p><p>There is a P.C. version available (AutoCad Light) at about &pound;450 i think, but i am led to believe there may be a slightly modified version available, for quite a lot less. :D </p><p>I would not say more on an open forum, but if you are interested PM me :cool: </p><p> </p><p> </p>
 
R

Radish Bahn

Registered
24 Oct 2009
137
0
Meaford, Canada
<p>I use Design Cad 2D which is a cheap version of TurboCad.It does everything I need for home use.
</p><p> Here's their web site http://www.imsidesign.com/Products/OtherProducts/DesignCADSeries/tabid/321/Default
</p>
 
G

Geoff the garden nav

Aristocraft locos & rolling stock, mid C20th to co
31 Oct 2009
96
0
Leicester, UK
AutoCAD Lt is very useful, I have planned most of my track work on it and bent the curves by hand with aid of 1 to 1 scale prints on A1. It helps having the use of plotter at the office. different computer magazines often (a few times a year) give away older versions of such as Turbo Cad on their cover disks, the just still current computer shopper has version 12 if I am not mistaken.
Very useful if you persist to learn enough basic commands and begin to draw with it.
 
dunnyrail

dunnyrail

DOGS, Garden Railways, Steam Trains, Jive Dancing,
25 Oct 2009
15,388
621
71
St.Neots Cambridgeshire UK
Hi, I am a Mac user and use Microspot MacDraft PE. At less than a hundred sovs it is a good and usable product. I have used it for making Wagon Drawings which I have subsequently scratch build. I also use it for doing Wagon and Locomotive plates that I print out on Photo paper to renumber rolling stock etc.

Like all these packages, they are never as simple as they say on the box (but maybe I am just thick!) however perseverance gets you their.

If you are a PC user there is a package used by Keith Bucklitch of 16mm society fame and live steam construction articles. All the drawings by him in the 16mm Today are I think done by him in this package. He is currently working through a 16mm ISBUTU project so if you know any one in the 16mm Society ask to see the November 2009 edition to see what can be done. In the past Keith has told me how to get hold of OUTDATED versions of the software. More than adequate to get you going.

Good luck,
JonD
 
R

Rob s

trains, R/C models, 4x4 off roading, motor sport
24 Oct 2009
2,010
0
West Midlands
Auto Cad has been a 3d system for about the last 10 years, and the full version of Auto Cad Lite (on disk) is now out there for less than a tenner :D
 
G

GarryH

Registered
30 Oct 2009
257
0
Crowborough East Sussex
Thanks for all the help guys there is some great advice here.

I had a peep at the google sketch but it seems to be more 3D

I am realy interested in 2D to draw up a set of cutting instructions, I could of course simply hand draw and cut out on the fret saw, but I fancy having a pop at learning a tiny bit about CAD and would love to then get a sheet of drawings cut by laser. As normal I have possibly set the bar way to high :)
 
G

GarryH

Registered
30 Oct 2009
257
0
Crowborough East Sussex
Rob s - 29/11/2009 3:30 AM

Auto Cad has been a 3d system for about the last 10 years, and the full version of Auto Cad Lite (on disk) is now out there for less than a tenner :D
Cheers Rob. This sound about my buget...........as normal, and a great place to start. :thinking:

I am going to have a search around today to see if I can find this disc.
 
G

GarryH

Registered
30 Oct 2009
257
0
Crowborough East Sussex
Stainzmeister - 28/11/2009 5:20 PM



I don't use it much now though cos I'm a boss
Deligation the art of management...................... ;)
 
Woderwick

Woderwick

Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club
24 Oct 2009
8,888
0
Ia Drang Valley
www.gtrains.co.uk
just had 2010 installed and now it crashes eveytime I open a 2000 or 2004 file. gr8.... :angry: :angry:
 
Alpineandy

Alpineandy

Registered
25 Oct 2009
1,640
19
Alpennines
I have found a simple free version for download called Draft It.
So far I have found it very easy to learn and I am in the process of drawing an engine shed.
As its free it won't have a lot of the features of retail CAD's but it is very easy to learn.
May be worth a try ? :thinking:
 
G

GarryH

Registered
30 Oct 2009
257
0
Crowborough East Sussex
More great advice,

Alpine andy draft-It sounds about the level I need. :)

Funandtrains, some sound advice cheers........feet and inches would be no problem to me...........it's an age thing ;)

Wod............don't you love computers :wits:

Stainzmeister.....Yep 2D is all I need
 
Woderwick

Woderwick

Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club
24 Oct 2009
8,888
0
Ia Drang Valley
www.gtrains.co.uk
<p>Yeah Gary, I also get roped into friends and neighbours problems too.</p><p>The autocad in question runs on my works PC, its a brand new HP dual core with USB2 SAMSUNG digital minitors. Its up to them to sort out, its just annoying.</p><p>This was the old one (far left</p><p><img border="0" alt=" " src="http://www.smegworld.org.uk/spaf/images/da-office.jpg" width="640" height="413" /></p><p>New one far left here, tiny compared to my old one. </p><p><img border="0" alt=" " src="http://www.smegworld.org.uk/spaf/images/noohw.jpg" width="800" height="508" /></p><p>It has its uses tho. I used it to make this drawing for a laser cutter. </p><p><img border="0" alt=" " src="http://www.smegworld.org.uk/spaf/bathtub/100tparts.jpg" width="640" height="774" /></p><p>Which ended up like this. All parts slotted and screwed together.</p><p> <img border="0" alt=" " src="http://www.smegworld.org.uk/spaf/bathtub/protobt-4-640.jpg" width="640" height="519" /></p><p> <img border="0" alt=" " src="http://www.smegworld.org.uk/spaf/bathtub/protobt-5-640.jpg" width="640" height="276" /></p><p><a href="http://www.smegworld.org.uk/spaf/bathtub/protobt-4-640.jpg" /></p>
 
Steve

Steve

I didn’t say it was your fault, I said I was b
Staff member
GSC Moderator
1 Jan 1970
29,006
6
D.I.L.L.I.G.A.F
Wow Wod you are one clever little toad :D
 
Woderwick

Woderwick

Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club
24 Oct 2009
8,888
0
Ia Drang Valley
www.gtrains.co.uk
Nah, if I was clever I would have worked out that they are too heavy, even in ally..
 
G

GarryH

Registered
30 Oct 2009
257
0
Crowborough East Sussex
"Shock and Awe" Wod

I have got the "green eyed monster" for your study. Just promise me that you didn't scratch all those Locos!!

The hopper is brilliant :applause:

Is it made of ally? It looks it? If it is where did you get it cut? I kinda thought lasers were not great with metal but I have done no real research yet.

As I originaly said I found a little company that has a laser business but they don't cut metal so ply will be my weapon of choice if I persue this idea.

Brilliant and inspiring pics Wod




:eek: :eek: :eek:
 
Woderwick

Woderwick

Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club
24 Oct 2009
8,888
0
Ia Drang Valley
www.gtrains.co.uk
A mates Industrial Laser. Actually the best medium is stainless steel. Styrene is a no no cos of the fumes, now that would work weight wise.

Descriptions of the locos are at http://www.gtrains.co.uk The Mallet has laser cut frames.